What can be "bio" about massage and wellness?

bio massage

bio massage“Bio” seems to be “in” at the moment and many wellness treatments and massages try to upgrade and market themselves with the addition of “bio”. What's behind it? What do I need to pay attention for? What benefits can I have as a customer and also as a masseur from "bio" applications and what are the so-called "black sheep"?

“Organic” is not a quality criterion!

Anyone who adds “bio” to their service does not have to meet any criteria, because “bio” is an abbreviation for many things that have nothing to do with “organic” and “pollutant-free”. “Bio-technology”, for example, doesn't have to be really environmentally friendly, but it also has the word “organic” in its name. The well-known “bio sauna” does not rely on particularly environmentally conscious building materials or pollutant-free additives, but is simply a name for a type of sauna that is more gentle on the circulation thanks to lower temperatures. So you shouldn't be blinded by the addition of the phrase “bio”, because the word alone does not mean that something is better or healthier!

What is really “organic”?

bio massageThose who value a sustainable, ecological lifestyle would also like to enjoy wellness offers and massages that meet their demands. But these are rare and often poorly declared. Usually the reason lies in the provider himself, who does not know exactly what such a customer is looking for. This is why “real organic offers” are still very rare in the wellness industry, although the trend is towards food, textiles and household products from controlled ecological cultivation or ecological and sustainable production even among discounters. If you want to swim as a masseur on the "organic wave", you should consider the following:

Certified natural cosmetics: purely vegetable

bio massageAnyone who wants to offer wellness treatments with the addition "bio" has to resort to certified natural cosmetics. There are different quality seals in the trade that have to meet different criteria depending on the national or international standard. In general, mineral oil components are an absolute taboo in natural cosmetics! “Nourishing skin oils” and massage oils from many large brand manufacturers are just cheap, synthetic petroleum products mixed with other chemicals such as “skin softeners”, preservatives and silicones. In addition, oils based on mineral oil are criticized for being carcinogenic due to certain ingredients. Some mineral oil-based personal care products contain paraffins. These do not penetrate the skin, but remain on the skin as a "lubricating film". Although this makes them pleasant to use, a care effect is not achieved by oils containing paraffin. Mineral oils in the declaration of ingredients are called: Cera Microcristallina, Ceresin, Mineralöl, Mineral Oil, Microcrystalline Wax, Ozokerite, Paraffine, Paraffinum Liquidum, Paraffinum Subliquidum, Petrolatum and Vaseline.

Which massage oil to use?

In contrast to paraffins, vegetable oils penetrate the skin very well and have a skin-caring effect. This is why masseurs and wellness providers should not only use natural cosmetics, but increasingly use pure care substances from nature! Sesame oil, for example, is ideal as a massage oil, but if you want to advertise with the addition “organic”, it must not be the cheapest cooking oil from the Asian shop or supermarket. Here, too, the masseur must pay attention to organic production, which, especially with oils, not only affects measures during cultivation, but also during production. Vegetable oils without an organic seal may sound like a natural product, but have gone through a manufacturing process in which all valuable secondary plant substances (vitamins, antioxidants, colorants, aromas, ...) are lost and only have to be added artificially at the end. An oil from conventional production is usually bluish and contaminated with solvent residues before it is colored and flavored again. So it doesn't have to be a massage oil from certified natural cosmetics, but a good cooking oil with an organic seal is a minimum!

Live organic

bio massageAnyone who wants to be “organic” in the massage practice or as a mobile masseur should live that and, for example, not use synthetic scented oils or scented candles for scenting. Customers who really live “bio” notice very quickly from such details whether “bio” is only used here as a means to pull money out of the customer's pocket or whether “bio” is really being traded out of conviction. Since real "organic offers" are still very rare in the massage and wellness industry, a focus on "organic" can close a regional gap in the market. It just has to be carried out consistently and make an honest offer!

Inspirations:

http://www.biohotels.info/de/ueber-uns/verein/

http://www.relax-guide.com/inspiration-bio-wellness

Photos: freedigitalphotos.net (meepoohfoto, Danilo Rizzuti, digitalart)

Menu

Was kann an Massage und Wellness „bio“ sein?

bio Massage

bio Massage„Bio“ scheint im Moment „in“ zu sein und viele Wellness-Anwendungen und Massagen versuchen sich mit dem Zusatz „bio“ aufzuwerten und zu vermarkten. Was steckt dahinter? Auf was muss ich achten? Welchen Nutzen kann ich als Kunde und auch als Masseur von „bio“ Anwendungen haben und was sind die sogenannten „schwarzen Schafe“?

„Bio“ ist kein Qualitätskriterium!

Wer seine Dienstleistung mit dem Zusatz „bio“ versieht, muss dazu keine Kriterien erfüllen, denn „bio“ steht auch als Abkürzung für vieles, was mit „biologisch“ und „schadstofffrei“ nichts zu tun hat. „Bio-Technologie“ zum Beispiel muss nicht wirklich umweltfreundlich sein, trägt aber auch das Wort „Bio“ im Namen. Die bekannte „Bio-Sauna“ setzt auch nicht auf besonders umweltbewusste Baustoffe oder schadstofffreie Zusätze, sondern ist schlichtweg ein Name für eine durch niedrigere Temperaturen kreislaufschonendere Saunaform. Man darf sich also vom Zusatz, der Worthülse „bio“ nicht blenden lassen, denn allein das Wort bedeutet nicht, dass etwas besser oder gesünder ist!

Was ist wirklich „bio“?

bio MassageWer Wert auf einen nachhaltigen, ökologischen Lebensstil legt, möchte auch bei Wellness-Angeboten und Massagen seinen Ansprüchen gerecht werdende Angebote genießen. Doch diese sind selten und oft schlecht deklariert. Meist liegt der Grund im Anbieter selbst, der nicht genau weiß, wonach ein solcher Kunde genau sucht. Daher sind „echte bio-Angebote“ in der Wellnessbranche noch sehr selten, obwohl der Trend selbst bei Discountern zu Lebensmitteln, Textilien und Haushaltprodukten aus kontrolliert ökologischem Anbau oder ökologischer und nachhaltiger Herstellung geht. Wer als Masseur auf der „Bio Welle“ mit schwimmen möchte, sollte folgendes beachten:

Zertifizierte Naturkosmetik: rein pflanzlich

bio MassageWer Wellnessanwendungen mit dem Zusatz „bio“ anbieten möchte, muss auf zertifizierte Naturkosmetik zurück greifen. Im Handel gibt es verschiedene Qualitätssiegel, die je nach nationalem oder internationalem Standard unterschiedliche Kriterien erfüllen müssen. Generell gilt: Mineralölbestandteile sind in der Naturkosmetik ein absolutes Tabu! So sind „pflegende Hautöle“ und Massageöle vieler großer Markenhersteller nur billige, synthetische Erdölerzeugnisse, vermischt mit weiteren Chemikalien wie „Hautweichmachern“, Konservierungsstoffen und Silikonen. Zusätzlich stehen Öle auf Mineralölbasis in der Kritik, durch gewisse Inhaltstoffe krebserregend zu sein. Manche Körperpflegeprodukte auf Mineralölbasis enthalten Paraffine. Diese dringen nicht in die Haut ein, sondern bleiben als „Schmierfilm“ auf der Haut. Das macht sie zwar angenehm in der Anwendung, eine Pflegewirkung wird durch paraffinhaltige Öle jedoch nicht erzielt. Mineralöle in der Deklaration der Inhaltstoffe heißen: Cera Microcristallina, Ceresin, Mineralöl, Mineral Oil, Microcrystalline Wax, Ozokerit, Paraffine, Paraffinum Liquidum, Paraffinum Subliquidum, Petrolatum und Vaseline.

Welches Massageöl nutzen?

Im Gegensatz zu Paraffinen dringen Pflanzenöle sehr gut in die Haut ein und bieten einen hautpflegenden Effekt. Daher sollten Masseure und Wellness-Anbieter nicht nur zu Naturkosmetik, sondern immer öfter zu reinen Pflegestoffen aus der Natur greifen! Sesamöl beispielsweise eignet sich hervorragend als Massageöl, jedoch darf, wenn mit dem Zusatz „bio“ geworben werden soll, dieses nicht das billigste Speiseöl aus dem Asia-Shop oder Supermarkt sein. Auch hier muss der Masseur auf die biologische Herstellung achten, die besonders bei Ölen nicht nur Maßnahmen beim Anbau, sondern auch bei der Herstellung betrifft. Pflanzenöle ohne Bio-Siegel klingen zwar wie ein Naturprodukt, haben aber einen Herstellungsprozess durchlaufen, bei dem alle wertvollen sekundären Pflanzenstoffe (Vitamine, Antioxidantien, Farbstoffe, Aromen,…) verloren gehen und erst am Ende künstlich wieder hinzugefügt werden müssen. Ein Öl aus konventioneller Herstellung ist vor dem erneuten Einfärben und Aromatisieren meist bläulich und mit Lösungsmittelrückständen belastet. Es muss also kein Massageöl aus zertifizierter Naturkosmetik sein, ein gutes Speiseöl mit Bio-Siegel ist aber Minimum!

Bio leben

bio MassageWer in der Massagepraxis oder als mobiler Masseur „bio“ sein möchte, sollte das auch leben und beispielsweise auch bei der Beduftung keine synthetischen Duftöle und Duftkerzen verwenden. Kunden, die wirklich „bio“ leben merken an solchen Details sehr schnell, ob „bio“ hier nur als Mittel dient, den Kunden das Geld aus der Tasche zu ziehen oder wirklich aus Überzeugung „bio“ gehandelt wird. Da echte „bio-Angebote“ in der Massage- und Wellnessbranche bisher noch sehr selten sind, kann eine Ausrichtung auf „bio“ eine regionale Marktlücke schließen. Sie muss nur konsequent durchgeführt werden und ein ehrliches Angebot darstellen!

Inspirationen:

http://www.biohotels.info/de/ueber-uns/verein/

http://www.relax-guide.com/inspiration-bio-wellness

Fotos: freedigitalphotos.net (meepoohfoto, Danilo Rizzuti, digitalart)

Menü