Choosing the right massage practice

Neck pain 4

Massage qualityIf you carefully look at newspaper advertisements, handouts, advertisements and flyers, you will quickly get the impression that there are massage practices “sand on the sea”. But how do you find the massage practice that is suitable or particularly good for you among all the offers? How do you recognize a good massage practice and what should you pay attention to when choosing?

Know your own needs

First of all, it should be clear: what am I looking for? Do I want or need to redeem a prescription for a medical massage or is it primarily about relaxation? A rough distinction must therefore be made between:

  • Medical massage and
  • Wellness massage

The former aims to heal certain ailments, the latter only serves to relax. A good massage practice should have clearly written out the nature of your offer. There are medical massage practices that expand their range to include relaxing wellness massages. A pure wellness massage practice may not offer medical massages if the masseur is not a trained one medical masseur or medical lifeguards. This must be clearly stated.

massage practiceCompare training

“Massage” is not just “massage”! In theory, anyone who wants to can offer massages for relaxation. Even without training or advanced training courses. Imaginative names of massage types can be an indication that there is no really in-depth training behind them. A traditional "Thai Massage“Cannot be learned in an evening course, for example. If, for example, a “relaxation massage according to Thai tradition” or similar flowery word creations is offered, one can assume that there is no corresponding training. It can be useful to compare additional offers of the massage practice. Do they also offer complementary therapies that prevent (sports) injuries and alleviate other complaints through prevention?

Obtain recommendations

If the doctor prescribes a medical massage, he can usually recommend a massage practice with which he has already had good experiences. If there is no free appointment, you can look for recommendations from acquaintances, friends or online. In the case of a medical massage, a personal recommendation is quite simple: if the application helped and noticeably supported the healing process, the masseur knows his trade. When it comes to relaxation massages, it is not always easy to make a recommendation, as everyone has different expectations of one type of wellness massage or the other.

Hygiene massageHygiene is important!

Regardless of whether it is a medical massage, mobile massage or relaxation massage: hygiene is important! That includes the professional Appearance of the masseur, the cleanliness of the bed, towels, sanitary facilities and also the general Environment. The latter is particularly important for wellness massages. It is therefore worth making an appointment for a massage personally in the massage practice to get an impression of the practice. Hygiene and training are not visible on the phone! Regardless of whether the appointment is made in person or by telephone: no further follow-up appointments should be made before the first massage, in order to keep the option open to go to another massage practice if you do not like it.

http://berufenet.arbeitsagentur.de/berufe/start?dest=profession&prof-id=8734

Menu

Massage QualitätWer aufmerksam Zeitungsannoncen, Handzettel, Werbeanzeigen und Flyer betrachtet, gewinnt schnell den Eindruck, dass es Massagepraxen „wie Sand am Meer“ gibt. Doch wie findet man unter allen Angeboten die Massagepraxis, die für einen selbst passend ist oder besonders gut ist? Woran erkennt man eine gute Massagepraxis und worauf sollte man bei der Auswahl achten?

Eigene Bedürfnisse kennen

Zunächst sollte klar sein: was suche ich? Möchte oder muss ich ein Rezept über eine medizinische Massage einlösen oder geht es in erster Linie um Entspannung? Grob unterschieden werden muss also zwischen:

  • Medizinischer Massage und
  • Wellnessmassage

Erstere hat die Heilung bestimmter Beschwerden zum Ziel, letztere dient ausschließlich der Entspannung. Eine gute Massagepraxis sollte die Art ihres Angebotes klar ausgeschrieben haben. Es gibt medizinische Massagepraxen, die ihr Angebot um entspannende Wellness – Massagen erweitern. Eine reine Wellness – Massagepraxis darf keine medizinischen Massagen anbieten, wenn es sich beim Masseur nicht um einen ausgebildeten medizinischen Masseur oder medizinischen Bademeister handelt. Dies muss klar deklariert werden.

MassagepraxisAusbildung vergleichen

„Massage“ ist nicht gleich „Massage“! Theoretisch darf jeder, der möchte, Massagen anbieten, die der Entspannung dienen. Auch ohne Ausbildung oder Fortbildungskurse. Phantasievolle Namen von Massagearten können ein Hinweis darauf sein, dass keine wirklich fundierte Ausbildung dahinter steckt. Eine traditionelle „Thai Massage“ ist beispielsweise nicht in einem Abendkurs erlernbar. Wird zum Beispiel eine „Entspannungsmassage nach thailändischer Tradition“ oder ähnliche blumige Wortschöpfungen geboten, kann man davon ausgehen, dass keine entsprechende Ausbildung vorliegt. Es kann sinnvoll sein, Zusatzangebote der Massagepraxis zu vergleichen. Bietet man dort auch ergänzende Therapien an, die (Sport-)Verletzungen vorbeugen und weitere Beschwerden durch Vorbeugung lindern?

Empfehlungen einholen

Verschreibt der Arzt eine medizinische Massage, so kann er meist auch eine Massagepraxis empfehlen, mit der er bereits gute Erfahrungen gemacht hat. Ist dort kein Termin frei, kann man sich bei Bekannten, Freunden oder in auch online Empfehlungen suchen. Bei einer medizinischen Massage ist eine persönliche Empfehlung recht einfach: hat die Anwendung geholfen und die Heilung merklich unterstützt, dann versteht der Masseur sein Handwerk. Bei Entspannungsmassagen ist eine Empfehlung nicht immer einfach, da jeder andere Erwartungen an die eine oder andere Art der Wellnessmassage hat.

Hygiene MassageHygiene ist wichtig!

Egal, ob es sich um eine medizinische Massage, mobile Massage oder Entspannungsmassage handelt: Hygiene ist wichtig! Dazu gehört der professionelle Auftritt des Masseurs, die Sauberkeit der Liege, Handtücher, sanitären Einrichtungen und auch das allgemeine Ambiente. Letzteres ist besonders wichtig bei Wellness – Massagen. Es lohnt sich also, den Termin einer Massage persönlich in der Massagepraxis zu vereinbaren, um einen Eindruck von der Praxis zu gewinnen. Am Telefon sind Hygiene und Ausbildung nicht sichtbar! Egal, ob die Terminvereinbarung persönlich oder telefonisch erfolgt: vor der ersten Massage sollten keine weiteren Folgetermine vereinbart werden, um sich selbst die Möglichkeit offen zu halten, bei Nichtgefallen noch eine andere Massagepraxis aufzusuchen.

http://berufenet.arbeitsagentur.de/berufe/start?dest=profession&prof-id=8734

Du musst angemeldet sein, um einen Kommentar abzugeben.
Menü