Job description: massage therapist / massage practitioner

Massage of the uterus

Massage therapist2A qualification that can be achieved relatively quickly and easily is that of massage therapist / massage practitioner. And another professional title that we have in our series "Job profiles in the massage sector“Would like to explain. With the multitude of possible qualifications, certificates and degrees, it is not easy for customers and young professionals to recognize the differences.

The massage therapist / massage practitioner

Both titles refer to one and the same training path, which is why we want to deal with them here together. Participants in the training with a healing license (e.g. alternative practitioners, doctors, etc.) receive a certificate as a massage therapist, participants without a healing license are certified as a massage practitioner. The name of this job title contains the word "therapist", which can lead to errors: In contrast to the state-certified medical masseur and medical pool attendant or the physiotherapist, massage therapists do not perform their massages for healing purposes, but work exclusively in the wellness sector. Every massage therapist and customer must be aware of this at all times, and massage therapists must also express this clearly.

Massage therapistRequirements

Quite simply: none! The training is intended for everyone who - regardless of their level of education, professional training or previous knowledge - is interested in the subject of massage. Beginners as well as "professionals" can take part in the courses.

training contents

As with all non-governmental training courses and pathways, the course content is not standardized. Basically, however, knowledge of the basics of the anatomy, operating principles and indications / contraindications of massage should be imparted. The aim should be to perform a full body massage independently after completing the course and several other wellness massages such as Lomi Lomi Nui or to master hot stone massage.

Training and duration

Many training centers also offer the courses part-time, so that you can learn at home with videos, scripts and other teaching materials and you only have to go to school for the practical part on weekends. Many providers also enable compact training within a few days. The duration varies between 3 and 8 days, depending on the content of the training and the scope of the training. One provider even offers to take the course units during a vacation in Mallorca! Wellness is in the game right from the start!

Massage therapist1Areas of application

In general, it can be used in the entire health sector: sports and fitness studios, spa and rehabilitation clinics, hotel SPA, spa and wellness areas, club hotels, cosmetic studios, medical practices, old people's homes, swimming pools and saunas or mobile massage. The activity can be full-time or part-time, as an employee or self-employed, since you have your own massage practice can open.

qualification

Some massage schools hand over the certificates without an examination after completing compulsory hours, others require a final examination or even several exams of different teaching units. Participants in the training with a healing license receive a certificate as a massage therapist, participants without a healing license are certified as a massage practitioner. The term “massage therapist” is not included in the list of state-recognized training occupations. The only officially recognized professions in the massage sector are: medical lifeguard / masseur and physiotherapist.

Further information options:

http://www.taohealth.de/massage-ausbildungen/massagetherapeut.html

Menu

Berufsbild: Massagetherapeut / Massagepraktiker

Massagetherapeut2Eine relativ zügig und unkompliziert zu erreichende Qualifikation ist die des Massagetherapeuten / Massagepraktikers. Und ein weiterer Berufstitel, den wir in unserer Serie „Berufsbilder im Massagebereich“ gerne erklären möchten. Bei der Vielzahl an möglichen Qualifikationen, Zertifikaten und Abschlüssen ist es für Kunden und Berufseinsteiger nicht einfach, die Unterschiede zu erkennen.

Der Massagetherapeut / Massagepraktiker

Beide Titel beziehen sich auf ein und denselben Ausbildungsweg, weswegen wir diese hier zusammengefasst abhandeln möchten. Teilnehmer der Ausbildung mit Heilerlaubnis (zum Beispiel Heilpraktiker, Ärzte etc.) erhalten ein Zertifikat zum Massagetherapeuten, Teilnehmern ohne Heilerlaubnis wird die Ausbildung zum Massagepraktiker zertifiziert. Im Namen dieser Berufsbezeichnung steckt das Wort „Therapeut“, was zu Irrtümern führen kann: Massagetherapeuten führen im Gegensatz zum staatlich geprüften medizinischen Masseur und medizinischem Bademeister oder dem Physiotherapeuten ihre Massagen nicht zu Heilzwecken durch, sondern sind ausschließlich im Wellnessbereich tätig. Darüber muss sich jeder Massagetherapeut und Kunde zu jeder Zeit im Klaren sein und Massagetherapeuten müssen dies auch klar zum Ausdruck bringen.

MassagetherapeutVoraussetzungen

Ganz einfach: keine! Die Ausbildung ist für alle gedacht, die sich – unabhängig von ihrem Bildungsstand, Berufsausbildung oder Vorkenntnissen für die Themen der Massage interessieren. Einsteiger wie „Profis“ können gleichermaßen an den Kursen teilnehmen.

Schulungsinhalte

Wie bei allen nicht staatlichen Schulungen und Ausbildungswegen sind die Kursinhalte nicht einheitlich geregelt. Grundsätzlich sollten aber Kenntnisse der Grundlagen der Anatomie, Wirkprinzipien und Indikation/Kontraindikationen der Massage vermittelt weden. Ziel sollte sein, nach absolviertem Lehrgang eine Ganzkörpermassage selbstständig durchzuführen und mehrere andere Wellnessmassagen wie zum Beispiel Lomi Lomi Nui oder Hot Stone Massage zu beherrschen.

Ausbildung und Dauer

Viele Ausbildungsstätten bieten die Kurse auch berufsbegleitend an, sodass zu Hause mit Videos, Skripten und anderen Unterrichtsmaterialen gelernt werden kann und nur zum praktischen Teil an Wochenenden die Schule aufgesucht werden muss. Viele Anbieter ermöglichen aber auch eine kompakte Ausbildung innerhalb weniger Tage. Die Dauer variiert hier zwischen 3 und 8 Tagen, je nach Schulungsinhalten und Umfang der Ausbildung. Ein Anbieter bietet sogar an, die Kurseinheiten während eines Urlaubes auf Mallorca zu belegen! Da ist Wellness schon von Anfang an im Spiel!

Massagetherapeut1Einsatzgebiete

Generell kommt ein Einsatz im gesamten Gesundheitsbereich in Frage: Sport –und Fitnessstudios, Kur- und Rehakliniken, Hotel-SPA, Spa- und Wellnessbereich , Clubhotels, Kosmetikstudios, Arztpraxen, Alten-und Seniorenheime, Schwimmbäder und Saunen oder mobile Massage. Die Tätigkeit kann hauptberuflich oder nebenberuflich, als Angestellter oder selbstständig erfolgen, da man eine eigene Massagepraxis eröffnen kann.

Qualifikation

Manche Massageschulen händigen die Zertifikate ohne Prüfung nach absolvierten Pflichtstunden aus, andere verlangen eine Abschlussprüfung oder gar mehrere Prüfungen verschiedener Unterrichtseinheiten. Teilnehmer der Ausbildung mit Heilerlaubnis erhalten ein Zertifikat zum Massagetherapeuten, Teilnehmern ohne Heilerlaubnis wird die Ausbildung zum Massagepraktiker zertifiziert. Der Begriff des “Massagetherapeut” wird nicht in der Liste der staatlich anerkannten Ausbildungsberufe geführt. Die einzigen staatlich anerkannten Berufe im Massagebereich sind: medizinischer Bademeister / Masseur und Physiotherapeut.

Weitere Informationsmöglichkeiten:

http://www.taohealth.de/massage-ausbildungen/massagetherapeut.html

Menü